Champion Newspapers Limited
For a better society

Cheers as Champion Newspapers unveils Heroes of 2022 at annual awards today

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

.Otunba Runsewe to chair the event

Print Friendly, PDF & Email



Eminent Nigerians across all strata of society will converge Friday at the Convention Centre of the Eko Hotels and Suites on Victoria Island, Lagos venue of the Annual Champion Newspapers’ Awards where some reputable citizens and institutions will be honoured for their immense contributions to the social, economic and technological development of their fatherland in 2022.


Top on the list of the 34 distinguished recipients are Retired Brigadier-General Mohamed Buba Marwa, Chairman of, National Drug Law Enforcement Agency, NDLEA will be conferred with the Man of the Year Award; United Bank for Africa (UBA) Plc (Bank of The Year); Mrs. Nneka Onyeali-Ikpe, the MD/CEO, Fidelity Bank Plc (Banker of the Year); Chief Ayo Adebanjo, Afenifere Leader, Life Achievement Award; Governors Babajide Sanwo-Olu of Lagos State (Governor of the Year); Ademola Adeleke of Osun State (Governor of the Year, Good Governance);  Abdullahi Audu Sule of Nasarawa State (Good Corporate Governance & Integrity in Leadership Award); Prince Dapo Abiodun (Executive Governor of Ogun State) – Investment Friendly Governor of the Year; Dr. Samuel Ortom, Governor of Benue State (Courage in Leadership Award); Governor Simon Bako Lalong of Plateau State (Governor of the Year on Security); and the Minister of Special Duties and Inter-Governmental Affairs, Senator George Akume (Pillar of Democracy Award).

According to a statement by the Group Managing Director and Editor-in-Chief of Champion Newspapers Limited, Dr. (Mrs.) Nwadiuto Iheakanwa, all the honorees were picked by the top echelon of the media organization after careful consideration of all the feats they have been able to achieve in their various endeavors last year, adding that they went through a thorough process against stiff competition.


She also revealed that the event billed to hold at the Eko Hotels and Suites, Lagos which will start at 6 pm, will have the Director-General of the National Council for Arts and Culture, NCAC, Otunba Olusegun Runsewe, as Chairman.

According to her, the highly versatile Cultural Ambassador and orator will pilot proceedings in this year’s award and steer the course of the entire event, giving it direction, glamour and all the sense of seriousness it deserves as the recognition is a benchmark for excellence in the media industry.


The GMD further disclosed that the league of awardees also includes Princess Dr. Folashade Omotade- Outstanding Female Personality of the Year; Senator Daisy Ehanire Danjuma -Business Woman of the Year; Parallex Bank Limited (Most Innovative Bank of the Year); Heirs Insurance Company Ltd (Digital Hub of Insurance of the Year); Mr. Babajide A. Sipe (Manager of the Year); Chief Dr. Cyril Onyekwelu Umunna Ajagu (Most Outstanding Savvy Investor of the Year); Prof. Umar Garba Danbatta (Most Outstanding Regulator of the  Year); Chief Abraham Otti (Mighty Mighty), (Heart of Gold); High Chief Michael Onuoha (Most Innovative Brand CEO of the Year); Alhaji Monsurudeen Oloyede Bello OBE (Public Servant of the Year); Hon. Chief (Mrs.) Nike Akande (Outstanding Amazon of the Year); Mr. Donald Duke (Most Outstanding South-South Personality of the Year) and Standard Chartered Bank (Child Education Support Bank of the Year).


Other awardees are Mrs. Grace Uredi (Founder, Mena Allure Fashion) –  Global Fashion Designer of the Year; Mohammed Bello Koko (Managing Director of NPA) – Maritime Icon of the Year; Engr. (Dr) Freeborn Okhiria (Managing Director of Nigeria Railway Corporation) – Impactful Leadership Award of the Year; Pastor (Dr.) Tony Rapu, Chairman, Freedom Foundation – Heart of Gold Award; Heirs Life Assurance Company Ltd – Digital Hub of Insurance of the Year; High Chief Engr  Johnbosco Obinna Onunkwo, Most Outstanding Oil and Gas Personality of the Year; Ogbueshi (Dr.) Gabriel Ifeanyichukwu Iyo (President General of Ndigbo United Forum Worldwide)- Philanthropist of the Year; Mr. A. K. Mirchandani, Chairman, Sona Group of Industries – Outstanding Industrialist of the Year; Hon. Amb. Prince Samuel Adesegun Egunjobi, Founder/President of Rebuild Afrika Foundation – Outstanding Industrialist of the Year; HRM Oba Dr. Abdulrasheed Olamilekan Balogun Alakinbo of Akinbo Kingdom, Ogun state – Outstanding Monarch of the Year.


Dr. Iheakanwa said the 2022 Awards is unique in several respects including that one of the recipients, Gen. M.B. Marwa will be the first winner of the Man of the Year Award back to back, 2021 & 2022 while the Executive Governor of Lagos State, Mr. Babajide Sanwo-Olu, who emerged the Governor of the Year will serve as Chief Host at the ceremony.


For a better society


Kindly follow us across all our social media platforms to stay up-to-date with the latest news and happenings in Nigeria and across the globe.

Facebook –

Instagram –

Twitter– @championnewsng

Comments are closed.